My Current Side Project Equals My First Quilt!

So yes, I finally decided to try my hand at making a quilt. I’ve been helping my mom and aunt pick out fabrics and designs for their masterpieces for years, so it was only natural that I would finally catch the quilting bug.

10_ab27linen_3
The inspiration fabric came from the Amy Butler collection. I fell in love with the large floral print with the contemporary treatment of lines and dots. Add to that the yellow and gray colors being such a subtle and sophisticated combination, I just had to make it into a quilt. When designing the quilt, I wanted it to stay true to the main fabric, keeping it mostly gray and white with only touches of yellow. And so, here you go Mom! I’ve completed my first 16 blocks.

Quilt1_2

Quilt2_2

It’s not perfect by any means, but isn’t that one of the reasons we love quilts – the imperfections. I can’t wait to finish it off. The design calls for adding a ruffle-edge instead of the typical quilt binding, so that should be fun. Plus I think I want to add a small border around the edges to frame off the quilt blocks and make the quilt a little larger. Current size is 48 x 48. And I’ve decided to use the inspirational fabric for the back – I mean it might as well be showcased.

Quilt3
Quilt4

I’m really enjoying the simplicity! I hope this inspires others to try their hand at something new.

One thought on “My Current Side Project Equals My First Quilt!

  1. Tina (Mom) says:

    Amy You did a great job. I can’t wait to see it in person. Are you going to have someone help you with the ruffle or am I going to help you? I think a border would showcase the blocks!!!!!
    I am so happy I have you hooked!!!!!
    And your next project is what?
    Love ya MOM

    Like

Leave a Reply

