A Ghostly Fall Tablescape

Halloween Tablescape via Tonality Designs

Happy October! Autumn is truly here now and that means it’s holiday season! I love that for the next three months we have holidays that will shape our homes, our gatherings, our traditions, our meals and—most important—our memories. My mom has always been a huge fan of holiday decor, so it’s no surprise that I follow in her footsteps. It’s just one more way to embrace creating a welcoming and joyful home that inspires family and friends to come and stay awhile.

This post is actually part of a Fresh Fall Tablescapes Blog Hop. I’ve joined nine other talented bloggers to give you inspiration on how to decorate your tables for fall. When I was first asked to join the blog hop, I thought I would do a traditional fall table, but then I got the Halloween craft bug and my plans changed. The end result is what I like to think of as a Haunted Farmhouse table. It really has so many elements of a modern farmhouse table (hello beautiful distressed charcoal planters, bright green moss, mercury glass and rustic chairs), but with a ghostly twist (ghosts and spiders, need I say more). I hope you enjoy it as much as I enjoyed creating it.

DIY Cheesecloth Ghost Topiary Centerpiece

My inspiration for my decor this year is a classic Halloween craft—the Cheesecloth Ghost. Do you remember making these as a kid? I do! And I thought, I bet I could elevate that into something modern and fab. So I got crafting and I’m loving the results. For this table I made DIY Cheesecloth Ghost Topiaries, but I didn’t stop there. I have a second application that I’ll share with you later this week. It’s equally as spooky cute.

DIY Pumpkin Topiary via Tonality Designs

The other item I created, was a sinister, creepy-crawly take on my DIY Pumpkin Topiary (see the tutorial here). And lets not forget the use of my DIY Distressed Charcoal Planters. I was inspired by the Smith & Hawken planter I found at Target and knew I needed to create smaller ones to match. The result was a success, so be sure to see the tutorial here. They are perfect for Halloween, but they are equally perfect for anyone into rustic, industrial or farmhouse decor.

DIY Pumpin Topiary via Tonality Designs

I used a combination of mini white and orange pumpkins as well as yellow acorn squash. If you are going to make a DIY Pumpkin Topiary, don’t forget you can even stack the pumpkins. All you have to do is place the first pumpkin stem down into the moss so you have the pumpkin’s flat bottom on top, then your next pumpkin can sit right on top.

DIY Cheesecloth Ghost Topiary Centerpiece

As for the ghosts, I made two sizes (one for the larger pots and one for the smaller pots). I’ll be sure to post the step-by-step tutorial, but in the meantime, I basically made a classic cheesecloth ghost using cheesecloth and fabric stiffener. Once dry, I used size 5 black embroidery thread and tied french knots for the eyes. Lastly, I stuck large white lollipop sticks into the pot for the ghost to then rest on. I love that it gives the appearance of the ghost floating. Spooky, right? Ha, ha! I have to laugh here as let’s face it, I love how cute it really is, rather than scary. I don’t really do scary (I close my eyes even in scary movie previews). Can we say scaredy-cat?

DIY Cheesecloth Ghost Topiary Centerpiece

Halloween Tablescape

As for the table linens and plates: I bought 3 yards of black burlap for the tablecloth (it was $3.99/yard, but I got it 40% off at Joann’s so it was less than $7 total). Burlap is perfect because it’s no sew!  The table runner was from HomeGoods last year. They are a great source for seasonal decor. Lastly, the plates and napkins. I say there’s nothing wrong with using paper. Halloween is on Monday this year, so who wants to be doing dishes? Plus, if having a large group over, paper just makes everything easier. You can find really cute designs at Target and HomeGoods. A good tip is to stick to using bold graphic patterns like polka-dots and stripes in only a couple colors as often complex designs can take away from your overall look. Here I got really lucky with the bold black-and-white graphic napkin. It matched my runner perfectly.

DIY Cheesecloth Ghost Topiary Centerpiece

Halloween tables cape with DIY Cheesecloth Ghost Centerpiece

pick-your-poison-1

How about cocktails to match your table? I created this FREE Pick Your Poison bar sign as well the Blood Red and Wicked White wine tags last year, so be sure to download the FREE printable (see original post here). Plus, I have the easy DIY for the Skull Drink Garnish as well.

And let’s not forget, this is part of a Fresh Fall Tablescapes Blog Hop. Please be sure to check out these amazing bloggers and their table inspiration. They’ve each posted ideas I want to adapt for my next table.

10 Fresh Fall Tablescapes

4.Tonality Designs (Me!)
Halloween Tablescape via Tonality Designs

14 thoughts on “A Ghostly Fall Tablescape

  1. Stephanie - Belle Amour Blog says:

    Amy this is seriously way too cute! I feel like I get a little bit lost when it comes to Halloween decor, and you have totally inspired me. Farmhouse, cute, classy, spooky, and fun all in one tablescape. You are so talented my friend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

