DIY Emotional Baggage Tote with DIY Valentine’s Day Notebooks Too

DIY Emotional Baggage Tote with FREE Heat Transfer PDF Download

We all got it so we might as well flaunt it! With Valentine’s Day approaching, I thought this may just be a cute way to remind us to not take ourselves, or our baggage, too seriously. And don’t you just love a good tongue-in-cheek design? They always make me smile.

DIY Emotional Baggage Tote with FREE Heat Transfer Download

I thought this tote would make a perfect Valentine’s Day gift or birthday present. And the gift ideas don’t stop with the tote. Why not fill your Emotional Baggage with your actual emotions and make some DIY Love Notebooks? So let’s get right to it and dive into the simple instructions.

DIY Emotional Baggage Tote

Materials

  • FREE Emotional Baggage Heat Transfer Printable – Download the 8.5 x 11″ PDF file here.
  • White Canvas Tote or Other Cotton Bag (The 13.5″ tote I used is available at Hobby Lobby & Michaels, they are sold in a set of 3 and I used a 40% off coupon so each bag was under $2 each)
  • Heat Transfer/Iron On Sheets (Again available at Hobby Lobby, Michaels, etc.; and again, use a coupon so that you save)
  • Iron
  • Scissors

Instructions

DIY Emotional Baggage Tote with FREE Heat Transfer PDF Download

  1. Download and print your FREE Emotional Baggage Heat Transfer Printable on your heat transfer/iron on paper. I created the printable so that the design was already “mirrored” so you don’t have to worry about doing that step when you print.
    DIY Emotional Baggage Tote
  2. Cut out heart and center on bag.
    DIY Emotional Baggage Tote with FREE Printable
  3. Iron onto bag according to instructions on the package. Once cool, remove backing paper and enjoy your customized tote!

Now Let’s Fill that Bag

DIY Emotional Baggage Tote with DIY Valentine's Day/Love Notebooks

I thought adding notebooks to the bag would make for a really cute gift.

DIY Valentine's Day Cards and Notebooks

I bought a couple Kraft paper notebooks from Target as well as a few floral designs. I then printed my Valentine’s Day Cards (available in my Etsy Shop) to attach to the notebooks. The cards are each 4″ x 6″ and print two per 8.5″ x 11″ page. You can download the file on Etsy for just $5 and print as many cards as you may need. File includes all four designs.

DIY Valentine's Day Cards and Notebooks

For the Kraft paper notebooks, I attached the cards permanently using double-sided tape.

DIY Valentine's Day Cards and Notebooks

For the floral notebooks, I attached the cards temporarily using cute stationary clips.

DIY Valentine's Day Cards and Notebooks

DIY Emotional Baggage Tote and DIY Valentine's Day Cards and Notebooks

You could also add your favorite book to your tote. If you haven’t read All the Light We Cannot See, I highly recommend it.

And that’s it. What will you fill your bag with? All I know is I plan to carry my Emotional Baggage with pride!

Leave a Reply

